February 2017 Bookworm Schedule

Reading is fun!Will the groundhog see his shadow or be too busy reading!?

Newspapers in Education –ad creation starts this month!

Thursday, February 2— Mr. Boomsma will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, February 7— Mrs. Lander will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, February 9— Ms. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, February 14— Mrs. Kimball will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Thursday, February 16— Mrs. Chadbourne will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

February 20 through February 24— School Vacation! Lots of extra reading time!

Tuesday, February 28— Ms. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

 

January 2017 Bookworm Schedule

Reading is fun!Welcome to a new year of reading!

Thursday, January 5— Ms. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, January 10— Mrs. Chadbourne will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, January 12— Mrs. Lander will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Monday, January 16— No School!

Tuesday, January 17— Mrs. Kimball will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, January 19— Mrs. Kimball will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, January 24— Ms. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, January 26Mr. Boomsma will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, January 31— Mrs. Lander will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

 


“The book you don’t read won’t help.”

–Jim Rohn

Bookworm Schedule — December 2016

holiday-concerts-2016

A short but busy month it is!

Thursday, December 1 — Ms. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Friday, December 2 is the Fellowship Breakfast at Valley Grange, starting at 6:00 p.m.

Monday, December 5 is the K-3 Holiday Concert at PCSS, starting at 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, December 6 — Mrs. Kimball will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Wednesday, December 7 is the 4-6 Holiday Concert at PCES, starting at 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, December 8 — Mrs. Chadbourne will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, December 13 — Mrs. Lander will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, December 15 — Mrs. Erwin will be at school to read starting at 8:45 a.m.

Don’t forget to bring canned goods to PCES for the Giving Tree!

Monday, December 19 — No school–unless you’re a teacher! Christmas vacation for students begins… and the first day back isn’t until January 3, 2017! Enjoy the time off, but keep reading!


“Do give books – religious or otherwise – for Christmas. They’re never fattening, seldom sinful, and permanently personal.”

– Lenore Hershey

“My first copies of Treasure Island and Huckleberry Finn still have some blue-spruce needles scattered in the pages. They smell of Christmas still.”

– Charlton Heston

You’re invited!

breakfast

No, that’s not a typo! Breakfast is not just for breakfast anymore… join us for a potluck fellowship breakfast followed by a brief Christmas Program. Come in your jammies if you’d like!

What a bunch of cut ups!

Over twenty “cut ups” met at Valley Grange recently to manufacture blankets under the direction of Pat Engstrom. (The blankets are made by cutting and tying fringe around the borders.) Several dozen blankets have been made and distributed to the Linus Project and the Veterans’ Home in Bangor. A special thanks goes to the group of students from Foxcroft Academy who attended and pitched in. No doubt we’ll be doing this again!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Month of Reading!

This comes to you from Reach Out and Read, a non-profit organization that works to incorporate reading into pediatric care. There are some great ideas!

november_calendar_1

Bookworm Schedule – November 2016

Reading is fun!
Tuesday, November 1, Mrs. Lander will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, November 3, Ms. Erwin will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, November 8, Mr. Boomsma  will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m

Thursday, November 10, Mr. Boomsma  will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m

Tuesday, November 15, Mrs. Lander will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, November 17, Mr. Boomsma will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, November 22, Mrs. Erwin will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, November 24 — Happy Thanksgiving!

Tuesday, November 29, Mrs. Lander will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Dictionary Day Delights!

dp-logo-transparent (1)Third-graders from Piscataquis Community Elementary School weren’t the only ones at the Valley Grange Hall for Dictionary Day last Friday. Also present were Corporal Austin and Miss Mary (Civil War Reenactors), Grange Bookworms and Members, and Laura Smith, a reporter from FOX 22/ABC 7 in Bangor. Check her report on Facebook.

This was Valley Grange’s fifteenth year presenting dictionaries to area students, bringing the total distributed to over 1,800. Students who make a field trip to the Grange Hall learn about the Civil War, the early days of the Grange, and the excitement of having their own personal dictionary. Another group of approximately 65 students will be visiting the hall soon and the “Dictionary Team” will be traveling to three schools to complete the program.

Additional information about the Dictionary Program can be found at the Dictionary Project Website.

Bring Your Scissors!

hands-697645_1280If you can handle a pair of scissors and tie a knot, you should join a group of cut-ups at the Valley Grange Hall!

Saturday, November 12, 2016

9:00 a.m. until…

The coffee pot will be on and there may be a few snacks… running with scissors will be strictly prohibited.

Under the capable tutelage of Pat Engstrom all men, women, and children will be manufacturing blankets for Project Linus and for Veterans. She says it’s real easy and has even convinced Jim Annis to try his hand at it! No sewing is involved.

Any questions call Pat at 564-8290 or Janice at 876-4131. Material will be provided.

Speaking of cutting, remember that we are collecting coupons that you have no use for as part of our “Coups for Troops” Program. Bring what you have! Additional items collected include Box Tops for Education and aluminum can tabs.

Bookworms Start Wiggling!

FReading is fun!riday, October 14 at 8:00 a.m. Bookworm Assembly at PCES in the gym following morning assembly!

Tuesday, October 18 Mr. Boomsma will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, October 20 Mrs. Lander will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, October 25 Mrs. Erwin will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Thursday, October  27 Mr. Boomsma will be at school to read at 8:45 a.m.

Friday, October 28 is PCES Dictionary Day!! Third graders visit Valley Grange at 11 a.m. for a presentation and to receive their dictionaries…

dictionaryproj