Bookworm Recruiting, Second Grade Style

by Mr. Boomsma

It’s no secret that I firmly believe that kids are great problem solvers!

I wish I were a bookwormAs many of you know, we’ve been struggling a bit to increase our bank of bookworms this year. Here’s a story that demonstrates maybe we should have just asked the kids for some help!

This past Tuesday, Mike Lange from the Observer shadowed me as I bookwormed so he could write a story about our program… we picked up our first kid and went to the couch where he listened for a while and took lots of photos. Since it was business as usual as far as the amount of time per kid, Mr. Lange decided to wander back to Mrs. Stearns’ room and poke around a bit—talk to some of the kids, maybe take another photo or two.

When “B” and I returned to the classroom I saw Mr. Lange sitting on a small chair at a desk next to a young lady. They were engrossed in a book about dinosaurs. Mr. Lange looked up and offered an explanation. “She told me it was her turn next and made me sit down and listen to her!” I chuckled at the sales ability of “A” and waited for them to finish. Mr. Lange asked her what she’d learned from the story… and after hearing her answer looked at me and said, “You know… I can do this! You just listen, help, and then ask some questions, right?”

Oh yeah, he’s hooked.  So give a wiggly welcome to our newest Bookworm, Mr. Lange from Saint Albans and the Piscataquis Observer! And a big thanks to “A” from Mrs. Stearns Second Grade for her recruiting efforts!

Mr. Boomsma is having trouble keeping up with all of this, but hopes to have the classroom posters with photos done soon… Bookworms, if you owe me a photo, please send it ASAP. Mrs. Annis has already sent out the schedule request for November—let’s start filling those slots! I’d like to have everyone’s badge at school and the classroom posters in place before we start November!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

