Gridlock in Guilford!

Last night as I drove into Guilford, I was sure there’d been an accident. Driving conditions were bad and traffic was backed up for quite a distance in both directions. As we inched along it became increasingly clear there was no accident. All these people were headed to PCHS for the 2009 Holiday Concert being put on by McKusick and Guilford Primary Schools. I confess I was part of the traffic problem as I’d appointed myself to represent Grange Bookworms at the event.

The crowd wasn’t disappointed. The gym was colorfully decorated by the HUGS group and the energy level was high—not just in the kids! Camera flashes were popping like a summer thunderstorm and small wonder: this was truly a “Kodak Moment.” The kids were “color coordinated” by class… all the kindergartners wore red including one little girl who had red flashing earrings on! The third graders were in angel” white and most were, in fact, acting angelic!

Bookworms should be proud and feel wanted. Two third graders saw me in the audience and came over acting very lady-like. “Hi, Mr. Boomsma. Have you checked the schedule?” I offered them a look at my program for the evening. “No, not that one. When are you coming to our class to read with us?”

We wish you a Merry Christmas!

The kids really did do a great job… it was obvious that they’d put a lot of work into rehearsing. I’m not sure I’ve ever heard a more enthusiastic rendition of “Jingle Bells” and when all the kids joined together to sing “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” you could tell they meant it. The evening was a proud moment for our community! 

I might just have to appoint myself to go to the Middle School Concert. It’s scheduled for Tuesday the 15th at 6:30 PM. Assuming the community supports our kids and schools as much at that one, I’d definitely suggest carpooling.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donna Harris

     /  December 12, 2009

    Such a great out pouring of community and family support for our youth is so encouraging during these difficult times. I wanted to share with my friends in colleges in Maine that we had our annual Christmas program on Dec 3rd and we had so many family and community members that there were not only too few parking places but also not enough seats. We had set up 500 seats in our multipurpose room then added 100 more the night of our program. We ended up having nearly 800 guests. Awesome. Our 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders were so excited to see the showing of nearly the entire community (we are a small town in North Carolina) just to hear them sing. And yes I too felt like most of them were ‘mine’. Kids are wonderful and we adults must seize the moments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

