Our Kids Need Our Help

One of the priviliges of being a self-appointed newsletter editor is editorializing! The following message went out in today’s issues:

Get some more coffee, I’m going to editorialize a bit.  As most of you know, I often go to recess with the kids when I bookworm. I do it mostly because I have fun, but also because it gives me a chance to talk to the kids and encourage them and hopefully help them. Yesterday it was pretty cold and I ended up helping what seemed like a lot of kids with broken zippers on their coats. It’s still pretty early in the season for coats to be tattered, torn, and zippers broken and you know some of these are hand-me-downs and thrift shop purchases.

The list is long. I need help!

This morning I looked at the Piscataquis Santa Website and I am heart sick. As of last Saturday, there were 574 kids registered as needing help… and 155 have “sponsors” working on fulfilling their wishes… I wonder how many of the 424 that haven’t been adopted are kids we read with… and I play with… and fix zippers for… Finish reading this and then go to the site and read the list. You should be struck by the number of children whose list includes only coats and clothes—no toys. Folks, this just isn’t right.

The site makes it fairly easy to find and “adopt” a kid. If you need help figuring out how to do that, call Jim Macomber or Sheree Brown at the number listed. If you can’t adopt a kid, do what you can… how fast can you knit some hats and mittens or make some toys? Send a small check or a big one (information on the site)! Let’s try to make sure “our” kids experience the spirit of Christmas, okay?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

